Buhari Resends List Of Non-Career Ambassadors To Senate


A revised list of 46 non-career diplomats was sent to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday.

Senate President Bukola Saraki read out the President’s letter on the floor of plenary, just before the lawmakers commenced the Ministerial briefing by the Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika on the planned closure of the Abuja Airport.

However, the new list showed that some names that were in the former list had been expunged and replaced with fresh names.

Among the candidates removed were Adegboyega Ogunwusi – brother of theOoni of Ife, Adeyeye Ogunwusi; George Oguntade, a former supreme court judge; Olorunnibe Mamora, a former Lagos-east senator; and Musa Ibeto, former governorship aspirant in Niger State.

Read this also:  QUESTION: Did Fayose violate the electoral act by openly campaigning for his deputy?

President Buhari expressed optimism that the letter “will receive the usual attention of the senate.”

The senate rejected the initial list sent by the President, citing numerous petitions written against the nominees.

Chairman Senate committee on foreign affairs, Monsurat Sunmonu, had during the consideration of the list said that “there are about 200 petitions against the nominees, and we don’t even know where to start.”

The first sign that the Presidency had not done its homework well in compiling the list was the rejection of the ambassadorial appointment by two of the nominees.

Read this also:  Nnamdi Kanu challenges IPOB’s proscription in court

Pauline Tallen, former deputy governor of Plateau state, and Usman Bugaje,from Katsina state, declined the President’s offer; the former citing the need to balance appointments in the state and the latter saying he preferred to concentrate on his work in the Arewa consultative forum.

Also, some All Progressives Congress Governors accused the presidency of not doing proper consultation before announcing the appointments.

The following names are contained in the revised list sent to the Senate by President Buhari on Thursday: Uzoma Eminike; Aminu Lawal; Godwin Umoh; Christopher Okeke; Yusuf Maitama;Baba Maigudu; Stanley Douye; Stephen Uba; Baba Ahmed Gida; Utobong Asuquo;Frank Ofegina; Joda Udoh; Yagwe Ede; Eniola Ajayi; Chris Eze; SuliemanHassan and Sylvanus Usofo.

Read this also:  IPOB not a terrorist group, says US

Others include: Aminu Dalhatu; Ahmed Bamilli; Yahaya; D. Abdulkadir; Haruna Arungungu; Musa Udo; Mohammed Rimi; Tijani Bande; Y. Aliu; NurudeenMohammed; Mohammed Isa; Adesola Omotade; Modupe Remi; Musa Mohammed;Elijah Ibeto; Susan Aderonke Folarin and Jacob Daudu.

The rest of the nominees are: Afolayon Adeyemi; A. Olaniyi; James Dmika;Haruna Abdullahi; Orji Ngofa; Sahibi Isa Dada; Kabir Umar; Jika Ado; GoniZana; Garba T.; Bala Mohammad and Ibrahim Dada.