Jacob Zuma Bans 9 Countries From South Africa Over Job Loss, Crime

South African President, Jacob Zuma

South African president, Jacob Zuma has announced a ban on nine fellow Southern African countries, and a deportation plan for those resident in South Africa who are found to have engaged in crime.

The countries affected by the ban are : Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Daily Times reported that Zuma said the “temporary freeze” will take immediate effect as citizens from these countries will no longer be allowed in South Africa.

Read this also:  Want to become a lecturer? NUC says you don’t need a PDGE

The news was reportedly met with resistance from various stakeholders, and diplomats from the affected countries are said to have called an emergency meeting.

Speaking from the parliament, Zuma said the countries in Southern Africa are responsible for the rampant job loss among local South Africans.

Read this also:  Only lazy people are afraid of restructuring, says Atiku

“I want South Africans to have jobs before others but it’s the other way round.

“Why should my child suffer while my neighbour’s child eats in my field?” Zuma said.

Another reason that Zuma highlighted was the alarming crime rates.

He said foreigners from neighboring countries commit crimes and run away from their countries, mostly illegals.

Read this also:  Shehu Sani: Nobody should deceive anybody, there’ll be no restructuring before 2019 elections

“All foreigners currently in South Africa from the affected countries will be vetted and if found to have contravened, they will be sent home immediately,” he announced.

There was no word on how the affected countries would respond to Zuma’s shock announcement.