26 PDP lawmakers In Kano Assembly Join APC

Twenty six members of the Kano State House of Assembly on Monday defected from Peoples Democratic Party,PDP to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The defection now makes PDP the opposition party.

The Speaker of the House, Gambo Sallau, was absent during the sitting that was presided over by his deputy, Isyaku Danja, who announced the defection.



    Abdul Abdulhamid, representing Minjibir constituency, said the legislayor’s defection was made after wide consultations with stakeholders at their various constituencies.

    “The defection of the 26 lawmakers to the APC gives the party a majority of 33 out of 40 seats,” he said.

    Three other members representing Kano Municipal, Takai and Kibiya were also absent at the sitting.

    The Kano State governor, Rabou Kwankwaso, had earlier dexamped to the APC from the PDP.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement