35-year-old dashes Yobe Speaker’s 6th term bid, wins with 182 votes

A -35-year-old has thwarted the sixth-term dream of Speaker of the Yobe State House of Assembly, Ahmed Mirwa Lawan.

Lawan, a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), lost to the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Lawan Musa.

They both contested for Nguru II Constituency.



    The Speaker has represented the constituency since 2003.

    Announcing the result, the Returning Officer Habib Muhammad, a doctor, said Musa polled 6,648 votes to defeat the Speaker, who got 6,466 votes.

    According to the returning officer, other candidates in the poll, including those of the Africa Democratic Congress (ADC), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), got 30, 14, and 23 votes, respectively.

    Unlike the Yobe Speaker, who lost his re-election, The ICIR reported how the Lagos State House of Assembly Speaker secured a sixth term. 

    Marcus bears the light, and he beams it everywhere. He's a good governance and decent society advocate. He's The ICIR Reporter of the Year 2022 and has been the organisation's News Editor since September 2022. Contact him via email @ [email protected].

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement