24.1 C

Another set of bills passed by NASS bites the dust as Buhari declines assent




PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has rejected another set of bills passed by the 8th National Assembly.

This was contained in a letter the President forwarded to the Senate leadership which was read by Senate President Bukola Saraki during Tuesday’s plenary.

The bills include Chartered Institute of Training and Development of Nigeria Bill, 2018; Nigeria Aeronautical Research and Rescue Bill, 2018; National Institute of Credit Administration Bill, 2018 and Ajaokuta Steel Company Completion Fund.

The others are the National Housing Fund Bill, 2018; Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria Bill, 2018 and National Biotechnology Development Agency Bill, 2018.

This is the third time in 2019 that President Buhari would not sign some bills already passed by the National assembly and on each occasion, he had pointed out reasons he was withholding his assent.

On January 17, the President had also informed the legislators that he would not sign five other bills into law. They were the Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (Amendment) Bill; the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Bill; the Federal Polytechnic Amendment Bill; the Maritime Security Operations Coordinating Board (Amendment) Bills; and the Energy Commission (Amendment) Bill.

And again, on March 21, Buhari communicated to the Senate that he was rejecting five bills that had been sent to him for assent. They included the Nigeria Film Corporation Bill, Immigration (Amendment) Bill, Climate Change Bill, Chartered Institute of Pension Practitioners Bill and the Digital Rights and Freedom Bill.

- Advertisement -


Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Train attack: How FG met terrorists’ demands for release of abducted passengers

SENIOR Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity Garba Shehu has said...

NNPCLtd. signs contract extension with oil majors, targets $500bn investments

THE Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCLtd) has signed a contract extension with five...

Bandits kill two vigilantes in Abuja

TWO vigilante members have been reported dead following an encounter with bandits at Gasakpa...

Wike to Atiku: People around you may cost you 2023 presidential election

RIVERS State governor Nyesom Wike has advised candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)...

Aero Contractors eyes return to commercial operations

Aero Contractors is eyeing a return to commercial operations after the temporary suspension of...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter