Promoting Good Governance.

CALL FOR APPLICATIONS: 2017 Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting

The Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) is calling for applications for the 12th edition of the Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting.

The award is open for Nigerian journalists or team of journalists with stories published between 4th October 2016 and 3rd October 2017.

This award seeks to honour outstanding reports from the print, online, photo, editorial cartoon, television, and radio categories in general.

Submitted reports must involve in-depth coverage of clandestine activities on public and or corporate corruption, human rights abuses, or on regulatory failures in Nigeria.

This year’s award will also include a special prize for reports on agriculture and food security to serve as encouragement to reporters covering the Agric sector.

This special category is as result of WSCIJ’s partnership with Oxfam, an international organisation dedicated to working to end the injustices that cause poverty.

Entries will be assessed by a panel of Judges made up of media experts and related professionals with good understanding of investigative reporting.

Criteria for judgement includes, quality of investigation, evidence, human rights elements, ethical reportage, courage, individual creativity, public interest, impact and quality of presentation.

Interested journalists must submit the reports on or before 4pm on October 26, 2017.

Online categories should be emailed to entries@wscij.org, while all other entries must be delivered to the Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism office, Second Floor, No 18A Abiodun Sobajo Street, Off Lateef Jakande Road, Agidingbi, Ikeja, Lagos.

Lara Owoeye-Wise, a member of the Board of Trustees of ICIR, is the only female winner of the award in the TV category (2006), while in 2016, Fisayo Soyombo, the current Editor of the ICIR, then working with TheCable, emerged winner of the online category.

He was also proclaimed the 2016 WSCIJ-Nigerian Investigative Reporter of the Year.

Comment on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.