Promoting Good Governance.

Eighth National Assembly to be terminated by Saturday, June 8, declares Buhari

LAWMAKERS of the eighth national assembly will cease to enjoy the powers and privileges that come with the elective offices by the midnight of Saturday, June 8, according to a presidential proclamation.

Mohammed Sani-Omolori, clerk to the national assembly, to whom the proclamation letter was addressed confirmed receiving the document to journalists on Thursday.

Another letter also transmitted to the clerk states that the ninth assembly will commence officially on Tuesday, June 11.

“I just want to confirm that I have received a proclamation from the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” Sani-Omolori told reporters.

“One, on the dissolution of the eighth National Assembly, the other one on the convening of the first session of the ninth National Assembly. The proclamation of the dissolution of the eighth National Assembly takes effect from 12 midnight of 8th June.

“By implication, from eighth of June by 12 midnight, the eighth National Assembly stands dissolved. Similarly, the ninth National Assembly will be inaugurated and first sitting will be held on Tuesday 11th of June by 10 a.m. in the National Assembly complex.”

Sani-Omolori also clarified that the document is separate from a previously circulated correspondence, dated May 30, from the president also claiming to dissolve the assemblies but which was not addressed to any official.

Last Thursday, the Senate had concluded its business session and adjourned till today for its valedictory session.

According to the orders of the day for the House of Representatives, the session will feature valedictory speeches by selected lawmakers and caucus leaders, speeches by principal officers including the speaker and his deputy, a goodwill message, an appraisal of the assembly’s legislative agenda by Clement Dakas, professor and dean of law at the University of Jos, valedictory handshakes, as well as an adjournment ‘sine die’ (indefinitely) by Femi Gbajabiamila, the chamber’s House leader.

The eighth assembly was inaugurated on June 9, 2015.

Comment on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.