FG Shuts Down Five Colleges In Troubled Northeast

The federal government has approved the shutting down of five federal government colleges located in the security challenged areas of the North-east.

Supervising minister of Education, Nyesom Wike, listed the schools to include Federal Government Girls College, FGGC, Munguno; Federal Government College, FGGC, Potiskum; Federal Government College, FGGC, Buni Yadi; Federal Science and Technical College, FSTC, Lassa and Federal Science and Technical College, FSTC, Michika.

Read this also:  Presidential hopeful, Kingsley Moghalu announces YPP as party of choice

According to a statement by the special assistant (Media) to the minister, Simeon Nwakaudu, candidates registered for WASSCE, NECO SSCE and BECE in FGGC Potiskum should have their examination centres relocated to FGGC Bauchi, while those from FGGC Munguno and FGC Buni Yadi should also be relocated.

Read this also:  Gombe police recovers State Assembly’s mace behind court complex

The statement further approved that other students who are affected by the closure but are not writing public examinations be relocated to FGGC Bauchi, FGGC Bajoga, FGC Maiduguri, FSTC Kafanchan and FSTC Dayi.

The government directive, however, left the choice of the schools for the affected students at the discretion of parents.

Read this also:  Chagala... Travails of Nigerian girls inside Egypt's slave markets ( Part2)

The minister also commiserated with families that lost their children during the unfortunate attack on FGC Buni Yadi in Yobe last week and assured that the ministry would continue to collaborate with all stakeholders to improve security around federal government-owned schools.



Comment on this: