Promoting Good Governance.

Former Petroleum Minister To Lead MEND In Dialogue With FG

Odein Ajumogobia
Odein Ajumogobia

The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta, MEND, on Monday announced a seven-member team, led by Odein Ajumogobia, a former Minister of Petroleum, to dialogue with the Federal Government.

Other members of the team are Bismark Rewane (Delta) and Florence Ita-Giwa (Cross River).

The rest are Timipa Jenkins Okponipere (Bayelsa), Ledum Mitee (Rivers) and Lawson Omokhodion (Edo) and Ibanga Isine (Akwa Ibom), who is a PREMIUM TIMES reporter.

The News Agency of Nigeria,NAN,quoted  Jomo Gbomo, MEND’s spokesman, in an online statement on Monday as saying that the other members of the team would be made public in due course after consultations with relevant stakeholders.

Gbomo said the team would dialogue with the federal government on the immediate, medium and long-term future of the Niger Delta region.

He said members had already agreed to serve on behalf of the Niger Delta Region.

He recalled that MEND on May 30, 2014, declared a ceasefire on attacks against the nation`s key economic and strategic interests.

Gbomo said the group took the decision in response to former President Goodluck Jonathan`s Democracy Day speech.

“Our message to the Niger Delta Avengers, NDA, is simple: The Niger Delta struggle is beyond attacks on oil installations.

“If indeed your cause is to avenge the injustice done to the Niger Delta region; then, we urge you to ceasefire and join us to the table of negotiation with the Federal Government.

“Otherwise, the Niger Delta struggle shall be hijacked, once again by selfish interests for their own personal aggrandizement,” Gbomo said.

He said the problems and challenges facing the region after attacks on key installations were environmental pollution and political corruption.