Promoting Good Governance.

Highway Africa Media Awards Open To Journalists

African journalists are to benefit from the 13th edition of the Highway Africa New Media Awards as part of programmes for 17thHighway Africa Conference taking place in South Africa on September 1 and 2.


The awards sponsored by Telkom aims at rewarding and enhancing innovative use of Information Communication technology, ICT, in journalism that serves Africa and its citizens.
The awards have become one of the major highlights of recognition, reward and celebration for creativity in using new technologies in media in Africa.

Entries should come from newsroom across Africa showcasing innovative use of digital media including online, social and mobile media.

Bloggers may also nominate an African-based or diasporic African blog based on its coverage, debate and use of ICTs within the African context.

Members of communities, organisations, or supporters may nominate an organisation based on their innovative use of technology within a community in Africa. The organisation does not have to be African based, but the community in which they operate must be.

Submissions are to be sent electronically to awards@highwayafrica.com . The Closing date is July 31.

Winners will be announced at the Telkom- Highway African New Media Awards ceremony during the Highway Africa Conference.

Esteemed and competent judges including Michelle Atagana, OryOkolloh, Brenda Zulu and Ndesanjo Macha have been selected to adjudge the 13th edition of the awards.

The judges will consider the use of new media technologies to  advance newsroom operations, increase reach and diversifying content; encourage social empowerment amongst marginalisedcommunities through relevant topical community and/or African issues and innovative use of online media interactions platforms; highlight innovative and creative applications of technology for the benefit of the continent’s overall media development

The wide range of organisations and individuals that have won include journalists and students, NGOs and profit makingorganisations.

These individuals and organisations have made information and communication interventions that are critical to genuine free flow of information and participatory communication.


Among the previous winners are Citi 97.3FM (Ghana) (http://radio.gjoy24.com/online/Citi_FM_973), Global Voices (http://globalvoicesonline.org/), 3 Bute (Nigeria) (http://3bute.com/), African Women & Child Feature Service (Kenya) (www.awcfs.org), Simon Dingle (South Africa) (www.zatechshow.co.za), Zoopy.com (www.zoopy.com)
Click here for more information, contact VimbaiChikukwa at awards@highwayafrica.com  or visit: http://www.highwayafrica.com/?page_id=8.


Closing date is 31 July 2013, 16:30, Pretoria Time. Winners will be announced at the Telkom- Highway African New Media Awards ceremony at the Highway Africa Conference. Finalists will be contacted.