INEC Declares Obiano Governor-Elect Of Anambra State

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Willie Obiano of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, winner of the Anambra state governorship election.

This followed the completion of the supplementary election in the state on Saturday in areas where it did not hold on November 16.

Declaring the result late Sunday, the chief returning officer of the election, James Epoke, said the APGA candidate scored 180,178 votes to win the election.

Tony Nwoye of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, and Chris Ngige of the All Progressives Congress, APC, scored 97,700 and 95,963 votes  to emerge second and third respectively.



    The Labour Party candidate, Ifeanyi Ubah, came forth with 37,495 votes and Godwin Ezeemo,  of Progressive Peoples Alliance, PPA, was fifth position with 5,120 votes.

    “declare a winner, the candidate must score 25 per cent vote in two-third of local government; having satisfied this condition, Chief Willie Obiano is now returned winner, ” the Chief returning officer declared.

    Results from INEC showed that of the 1,770, 127 registered voters in the state, 465,891 people were accredited and total vote cast was 442,242.

    The results also showed that 16,988 votes were voided leaving valid ones at 425,254.

    Advert Bracken

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement