Kogi poll: SDP’s Ajaka wins polling unit

THE governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Muritala Ajaka, emerged winner of his polling unit at Grade 1 Area Court, Ajaka Ward 07 in Igalamela/Odolu LGA in Kogi state. 

He polled 111 votes against the All Progressives Congress (APC), which had 005 votes, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) secured zero votes.

Similarly, the Peoples  Democratic Party’s (PDP) governorship candidate for the Kogi election, Dino Melaye has won the election in his polling unit in Iluafon Quarters under Aiyetoro 1 registration area of Ijumu LGA of the state.



    As announced by the Presiding Officer after the election process, Melaye polled a total of 210 votes against his contenders.

    The candidate for the All People’s Congress (APC), Ahmed Ododo had 22 votes while African Democratic Party’s (ADC) candidate, Leke Abejide polled only 7 votes.

    The polling unit recorded a low turnout of voters as 252 voters were accredited out of 819 registered voters.

    A total of 18 candidates vying for the governorship seat were cleared by INEC in the off-cycle election in Kogi State.


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement