Kwara: Oloriegbe loses senatorial re-election bid

THE senator representing Kwara Central in the National Assembly, Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe, has lost his bid to return to the Senate in 2023.
Oloriegbe scored the least votes among the three All Progressives Congress (APC) aspirants that participated in the senatorial primary held in Ilorin, Kwara State, on Saturday, May 28, 2022 night.
A philanthropist and Turaki of Ilorin, who once contested for the post of the APC National Chairman, Malam Saliu Mustapha, scored 136 votes to emerge winner of the senatorial shadow election.

Read Also:

A business mogul, Yahaya Seriki, scored 78, while Oloriegbe scored only 15 votes.
In Kwara North, the incumbent senator, Suleiman Sodiq Umar, scored 202 votes to defeat his closest rival, Tauheed Daudu Toyin, who scored 75 votes.
Also, the incumbent senator representing Kwara South, Lọla Ashiru, polled 158 votes to beat his opponent, Raheem Ajulọopin, who scored 154 votes.
Dare Akogun

Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

- Advertisement


- Advertisement