back to top

NNPP wins Kano governorship seat

THE gubernatorial candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) Kabir Abba Yusuf has won the Kano governorship election.

Yusuf won the election by defeating the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who is the current deputy governor of the state, Nasir Gawuna, and 16 other contestants.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (IINEC) declared Yusuf winner of the keenly contested election after the collation of results from the 44 local government areas (LGAs) in the state.

According to the returning officer, Ahmad Dokko, Yusuf won the election with 1,019,602 votes, while Gawuna got 890,705 votes.



    However, there were arguments between party agents that lasted for a long time and led to the postponement of the result till this morning.

    Yusuf slugged it out with the incumbent governor, Umar Ganduje, in 2019 in what was regarded as a very controversial election, which went into supplementary polls.

    Yusuf, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at that time, lost to Ganduje after the supplementary election was conducted by INEC in 28 LGAs of the state.

    The just concluded Kano State gubernatorial election generated a lot of controversy before, during, and after the poll.

    Bankole Abe
    Reporter at ICIR | [email protected] | Author Page

    A reporter with the ICIR
    A Journalist with a niche for quality and a promoter of good governance

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement