Nwifuru, Oborevwori, Muftwang win guber polls in Ebonyi, Delta, Plateau

THE All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Francis Nwifuru has emerged the winner of the March 18 governorship election in Ebonyi State.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer in Ebonyi, on Monday, March 20, declared Nwifuru winner after he polled 199,131 votes to edge his closest rival, Ifeanyi Odii of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Odii scored 80,191 votes while the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate Prof. Benard Odoh got 52,189.

In the same vein, candidate of the PDP, Sheriff Oborevwori, has been declared winner of the governorship election in Delta State.



    Oborevwori polled 360,234 votes to win the election while APC candidate Senator Ovie Omo-Agege finished second with 240,229 votes.

    Similarly, the candidate of the PDP in Plateau State, Caleb Mutfwang, has been declared winner of the March 18 governorship election in the state.

    The state Returning Officer Idris Amali said that the PDP candidate polled 525,299 votes to defeat his closest rival and the candidate of the ruling APC, Nentawe Yilwatda, who got 481,370 votes.

    According to the declared results, the PDP candidate won in 10 local government areas while the APC candidate won in seven LGAs.

    Usman Mustapha is a solution journalist with International Centre for Investigative Reporting. You can easily reach him via: [email protected]. He tweets @UsmanMustapha_M

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement