Obasanjo, Buhari, Abacha, Babangida, Ojukwu Others Get Centenary Award

President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday decorated seven living former Nigerian heads of state and Presidents with the centenary awards.

The decorated leaders are Yakubu Gowon, Olusegun Obasanjo, Shehu Shagari, Muhammadu Buhari, Ibrahim Babangida, Ernest Shonekan and Abdusalami Abubakar.

Similarly, six late Nigerian heads of state were honoured post-humously.

The recipients of the post-humous award are Nnamdi Azikiwe, Tafawa Balewa, Aguiyi Ironsi, Murtala Mohammed, Sani Abacha and Musa Yar’Adua.

Also in the category is the presumed winner of the June 1993 general election, Moshood Abiola.

The centenary awards were in 13 categories with winners both living and dead.

The first are those who have contributed  to the making of Nigeria and they include Queen Elizabeth II of England, Lord Fredrick Lugard and his wife, Lady Lugard,

The second category is the heroes of the struggle for independence/pioneer political leaders which include Azikiwe, Balewa, Herbert Macaulay, Obafemi Awolowo, Ahmadu Bello, Eyo Ita, Jaja Nwachukwu, Michael Imoudu, Anthony Enahoro and Joseph Tarka.

The rest are Malam Aminu Kano, Margaret Ekpo, Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti and Gambo Sawaba.

The third category is the pioneers in professional callings/careers which include the first indigenous lawyer, Sapara Williams, and the first indigenous solicitor, Rotimi Williams.

The category also include
the first indigenous chartered accountant, Akintola Williams, the first indigenous Inspector General of Police, Louis Edet, and the first indigenous medical doctor, Eyitayo Lambo.

Also in the categories are the first female vice chancelor of Nigerian universities, Grace Alele-Williams, and the first indigenous female pilot, Chinyere Kalu, amongst others.

The fourth category is pioneer in commerce and industry, which has Louis Odumegwu Ojukwu, Alhassan Dantata and Adeola Odutola.

Awardees under pioneer of democratic transition in Nigeria are Shagari,  Abiola, Shehu Yar’Adua and Abdusalami Abubakar.

The sixth category is the heroes in global sports competitions which are Chioma Ajunwa, Nwankwo Kanu, Richard Ihetu, Michael Okpala (Power Mike) and Monday Emoghavwe.

The seventh category is accomplished pioneer public servants and the awardees  include Olabode Wey, Justice Udo Udoma, Emeka Anyaoku, Adetokubo Ademola, Olawale Elias, Rilwan Lukman, Ibrahim Dasuki and Aliyu Mai-Borno.

The awardess under category eight, which are the accomplished contemporary entrepreneurs are Aliko Dangote, Mike Adenuga and innocent Chukwuma.

The ninth category is distinguished academics and the recipients include Benjamin Osuntokun, Kelsey Harrison, Chike Obi, Dagogo Fubara, Ade Ajayi, Claude Ake, Babatunde Fafunwa, Godwin Abasi and Umaru Shehu.

The 10th category is international acclaimed artists, literary icons and journalists and the recipients include Michael Akinwumi, Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe and John Pepper Clark.

The recipients also include Cyprian Ekwensi, Abubakar Imam,Daniel Fagunwa, Ernest Ikoli, Babatunde Jose, Kenneth Nnebue, Olu Jacobs, Patience Ozokwor, Shata Katsina, Herbert Ogunde, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Osita Osadebe and Ladi Kwali.

Others are Benedict Enwonwu, Maitama Sule, Akin Mabogunje, Barnabas Oloruntoba and the Justice of Nigeria, Maryam Mukhtar.



    The 11th category is outstanding bravery and public spiritedness and the beneficiaries are Gani Fawehinmi and Michael Ihuka.

    The 12th category is outstanding promoters of unity, patriotism and national development and in the category are former heads of state and presidents.

    The recipients are Gowon, Murtala Mohammed, Obasanjo, Buhari, Babangida, Shonekan, Abacha, Umaru Yar’Adua, and Theophilus Danjuma.

    The last category is exemplary service in the promotion of peace and moral excellence and the recipients are Abubakar Sadiq, Sheikh Abubakar Gumi, Michael Tansi, Enoch Adeboye and Sheikh Usman Bauchi.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement