Ondo 2024: 16 parties to participate in off-cycle election – INEC

CHAIRMAN of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Mahmood Yakubu has said 16 political parties would participate in the forthcoming off-cycle governorship election in Ondo state.

He disclosed this during a meeting with members of Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) in Abuja on Wednesday, March 20.

“Turning to Ondo State, political parties will commence their primaries for the governorship election in the next two weeks. Sixteen political parties have indicated interest in participating in the election.

“I urge civil society organisations (CSOs) to engage with political parties and observe their primaries just as you engage with INEC and deploy observers to the main election conducted by the commission. By doing so, you will strengthen your advocacy for inclusivity for groups such as women, youths, and persons with disability (PwDs) under-represented in national and state-level elective offices,” he said.

Yakubu urged the CSOs to always submit reports on their observations of previous elections, as certain reforms by the electoral body are a result of recommendations by CSOs.

He warned that there would no longer be accreditation for CSOs that fail to submit reports on the observation process.

“While many of you have submitted your reports, some accredited observers are yet to do so for the general election, supplementary elections, off-cycle elections, bye-elections and re-run elections.

“May I, therefore, seize this opportunity to remind those who are yet to submit their observation reports that it is mandatory to do so, being one of the conditions for eligibility to observe future elections. Going forward, the Commission will operate strictly on the policy of “no observation report, no accreditation,” Yakubu said.



    Ondo State is set to hold governorship elections by November 2024.

    While party primaries have yet to be held, the incumbent governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, declared his interest in contesting the elections and continuing as governor, a position he has occupied for about three months.

    Aiyedatiwa became governor in December 2022 after his predecessor, Rotimi Akeredolu, died of a protracted illness.

    He is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

    Ijeoma Opara is a journalist with The ICIR. Reach her via [email protected] or @ije_le on Twitter.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement