36 C

Osinbajo congratulates Bola Tinubu on victory at APC presidential primary




Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has congratulated the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primary winner and the party’s flagbearer for the 2023 presidential poll, Bola Tinubu.

In a statement he issued today, Osinbajo said that Tinubu had for many decades shown passion, patriotism, courage and determination in the cause of nation-building. 

He stated, “His sterling contributions to our democracy and its progress stand him out. His wealth of experience will certainly be critical in our party’s continued efforts to attain a more secure and prosperous Nigeria.”

Osinbajo, who lost to Tinubu at the primary, pledged to join other party members to ensure his victory in the coming poll.

He also felicitated President Muhammadu Buhari and all the APC leaders for the success of the party’s convention and presidential primary, which ended in Abuja yesterday.

“To all members of our great party, regardless of who you voted for at the primaries, we must now unite behind our presidential candidate and flagbearer to ensure victory for our party in the 2023 elections.

“As true progressives, we must remain strong and united in pursuing our collective vision as a party toward building a country that can provide a decent life and livelihoods for all our people,” he said.

- Advertisement -

Apart from Osinbajo, 12 other aspirants contested and lost to Tinubu, who won overwhelmingly at the primary.

Seven aspirants stepped down for the former Lagos State governor, including Kebbi State Governor Abubakar Bagudu and Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi.

Senators Godswill Akpabio, Ibikunle Amosun and former Speaker Dimeji Bankole were among the aspirants who pulled out and backed the party’s flagbearer.

Much hailed as Tinubu’s political son, Osinbajo refused to step down for the former Lagos State governor as others from the South-West did, excluding Pastor Tunde Bakare.

Tinubu, a former senator and the APC national leader, polled 1,271 votes at the party’s primary, followed by a former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, who garnered 316 votes, while Osinbajo scored 235 votes. 


Author profile

I bear the light; I'll beam it everywhere. Marcus loves his job dearly, and he gives it his best.
Do you have any information for me? Contact me via email @ mfatunmole@icirnigeria.org or Facebook Messenger @ Marcus Omoniyi Fatunmole. Together, we can make Nigeria work.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Naira redesign: Presidential endorsement not sufficient to legitimise process – Falana

HUMAN rights lawyer, Femi Falana, has faulted the recent endorsement of the naira redesign...

ECOWAS to get new complex in Abuja by 2025

NIGERIAN President Muhammadu Buhari has laid the foundation of the new ECOWAS Headquarters Complex...

2023: Peter Obi promises to increase power generation to 25,000mw by 2025

LABOUR Party (LP) presidential candidate, Peter Obi, has promised to increase the country's power...

Okupe was expelled for mishandling N20m campaign funds — Ogun LP

THE Chairman of the Labour Party (LP) in Ogun state, Michael Ashade, has said...

NDLEA declares Abuja drug baron wanted, arrests grandma, pregnant woman

THE National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has declared an Abuja-based drug lord Ibrahim...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter