PDP claims 25 of 26 assembly seats in Osun as Speaker loses

THE Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won 25 of the 26 House of Assembly seats in Osun State.

The party recorded a sweeping victory in the March 18 state assembly elections.

PDP dislodged the All Progressives Congress (APC), which won all seats except three, in 2019.

The only seat won by the APC is Boripe/Boluwaduro state Constituency, where the state’s former Governor, Gboyega Oyetola, hails from.

    The state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mutiu Agboke, an academic doctor, announced the results on Sunday, March 19, at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) headquarters in Osogbo.

    The ICIR reports that the election result was a replay of what transpired during the July 16, 2022, governorship election that produced the incumbent governor Ademola Adeleke of the PDP.

    Adeleke defeated Oyetola of the APC, who was seeking a second term.

    However, a tribunal nullified Adeleke’s election on January 27, 2023. He appealed the ruling.


    Marcus bears the light, and he beams it everywhere. He's a good governance and decent society advocate. He's The ICIR Reporter of the Year 2022 and has been the organisation's News Editor since September 2022. Contact him via email @ [email protected].

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read