Promoting Good Governance.

Police Promotes 2 AIGs, 3 Commissioners

IG of Police, M.D. Abubakar decorating newly promoted officer – File Photo

The Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar, has announced the promotion of two  Assistant Inspectors-General of Police, AIGs and three commissioners of Police, CPs.

According to a statement signed by the police 0ublic relations officer, Frank Mba, a chief superintendent of police, Michael Zuokumor and Jonathan Johnson who were formerly AIGs in charge of Zone 4, Makurdi and Zone 6, Calabar, respectively, have been promoted to the rank of Deputy Inspector-General of Police, DIGs.

Similarly, Fana Abdullahi Salisu,in charge of Force Quartermaster, Musa Abdulsalam Daura, CP Kano and Kakwe Christopher Katso, CP Force CID, have been elevated to the rank of AIG.

Their promotion, according to the statement, followed the retirement of DIGs Marvel Akpoyibo and Philemon Leha, who were pulled out of the force on January 16.

The Inspector General of Police, M.D. Abubakar congratulated the newly promoted officers and urged them to re-double their efforts in the war against terrorism.

He also urged them to regard their elevation as an invitation to greater responsibilities.