President Jonathan Fires Nine Ministers In Cabinet Reshuffle

President Goodluck Jonathan has sacked nine out of 41 ministers Wednesday in the first major shake-up since he was sworn in 2011.

Those affected include:  the minister of education; Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i, minister for national planning; Shamsudeen Usman, minister of foreign affairs; Olugbenga Ashiru, minister of environment; Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafa, minister of housing and urban development; Amma Pepple and the minister of science and technology; Ita OkonBassey Ewa .
Others are: Minister of State for Defence; Erelu Olusola Obada, Minister of State for Power; Zainab Kuchi and Minister of State for Agriculture; Bukar Tijani Borno.
Jonathan had warned ministers and all heads of government’s departments and agencies earlier in the year that they would henceforth be assessed by the quality of service they rendered.
In the last couple of months, ministers have been presenting reports on the performance of their ministries to the President, which served as a basis to measure their achievements
Details later…

Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

- Advertisement