Promoting Good Governance.

Presidential hopeful, Sowore announces African Action Congress as party of choice

OMOYELE Sowore, the publisher of Sahara Reporters and a presidential aspirant in the forthcoming 2019 general election, has announced African Action Congress (AAC) as his party of choice.

The party is one of the 23 new political parties whose successful registration was announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday.

Prior to the registration of the AAC, Sowore had been carrying out the awareness campaign for his political ambition through a movement he floated called ‘Take it back’.

Director General of the TakeItBack Movement/Sowore 2019 Campaign, Malcom Fabiyi, issued a statement saying that the official unveiling of the party will take place in Abuja on Wednesday.

“On August 15th, the official unveiling of our party, the AAC, will hold at the Party Headquarters in ABUJA. We will also be announcing the members of our Coalition of Authentic Progressive Parties & Organizations (CAPPO) on that date,” Fabiyi stated.

“With our own dedicated party platform, we are now able to match up a pace setting movement with a transformative political platform.

“We call on progressives and youth everywhere to embrace the AAC. Our party is the authentic platform for political transformation in Nigeria. Our party’s slogan will be – Take it Back – Action!!!”

Sowore has been travelling around Nigeria engaging citizens on what he said is a dire need for a drastic change in the country’s system of leadership. He has also held meetings with Nigerians in several countries.

Earlier this month, some of the young persons running for the office of the Nigerian President, including three most prominent of them, namely: Kingsley Moghaly, Omoyele Sowore and Fela Durotoye, met in Abuja and agreed to work together. It is not clear yet how they intend to do that.


With the successful registration of the 23 new parties by INEC on Tuesday, the number of political parties in Nigeria now stands at 91.

INEC’s National Commissioner and Member of the Commission’s Voter Education and Publicity Committee, Mohammed Haruna, said there were about 144 parties that requested for registration, but only 23 satisfied the required conditions.

They are: Advanced Alliance Party, Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party, African Action Congress, Alliance for a United Nigeria, Alliance of Social Democrats, Alliance National Party, Allied People’s Movement, and Alternative Party of Nigeria.

Others include: Change Nigeria Party, Congress Of Patriots, Liberation Movement, Movement for Restoration and Defence of Democracy, Nigeria Community Movement Party, Nigeria For Democracy, Peoples Coalition Party, Reform and Advancement Party, Save Nigeria Congress, The United Patriots, United Peoples Congress, We The People Nigeria, Yes Electorates Solidarity, Youth Party, and Zenith Labour Party.

The newly registered parties will be issued their Certificates of Registration at INEC’s headquarters in Abuja on Thursday August 16.

Comment on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.