Promoting Good Governance.

South Africa Ignores Nigeria, Grants Visa-Free Status To Ghana

GHANA is the latest country to be granted a visa-free status by the South African government, according to the SA Minister of Home Affairs, Hon. Aaron Motsoaledi.

While delivering his speech at the occasion of the Home Affairs budget vote Motsoaledi mentioned Ghana in the list of seven countries whose nationals will be permitted to enter South Africa visa-free.

Nigeria was conspicuously missing on the list despite the large volume of trade between the two countries. Nigeria is ranked 12th export destination for South Africa’s goods and is ranked 1st most important import source from Africa.

Out of the 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries, and 16 are in Africa, and 59 are from the rest of the world.

The new addition to the visa-free countries are: Qatar, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Cuba, Sao Tome and Principe and Ghana.

The Minister promised to increase increase the number of people who process visas in Nigeria.

“We still have some homework to do for three countries whose combined populations make up close to 30 per cent of the world’s population i.e. China, India and Nigeria,” he said.

President Cyril Ramaphosa also has announced in  June that he would accelerate the implementation of e-visa system.

“The e-visa system will advance deployment of immigration as a tool for economic development outlined in the National Development Plan,” said the Minister.

Comment on this:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.