Tambuwal wins Sokoto South senatorial seat

THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, winner of the Sokoto south senatorial election.

Tambuwal won the election with 100,860 votes, defeating the incumbent lawmaker and All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Ibrahim Danbaba Dambuwa, who had 95,884 votes.


Tambuwal wins Sokoto South senatorial seat

Wamakko wins Sokoto North senatorial election

Sokoto govt promises to clear February, March salaries before Easter break

Guber poll: Aliyu wins in Sokoto as INEC declares Kebbi election inconclusive

The returning officer, Professor Abubakar Abdullahi Bagudo, announced the result on Sunday afternoon.



    Dambuwal won the election with a total margin of 4,976.

    Tambuwal is a two-term governor of Sokoto state.

    He was first elected as governor of Sokoto state in 2015 and reelected in 2019.

    Before then, he served as a speaker of the House of Representatives from 2011 to 2015.

    Beloved John is an investigative reporter with International Centre for Investigative Reporting.

    You can reach her via: [email protected]

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement