Tinubu, 28 governors-elect set for inauguration today

THE President-elect, Bola Tinubu, will today, Monday, May 29, take his oath of office as Nigeria’s 7th elected president.

The inauguration of the new administration at the national level will take place at the Eagle Square in Abuja.

Tinubu’s government will be the country’s 17th since the British handed over power to Nigeria after independence in 1960.

The ICIR also reports that Tinubu’s presidency will be the fifth since Nigeria returned to democracy in May 1999, coming after former President Olusegun Obasanjo (1999-2007), Umar Yar’Adua (2007-May 2010), Goodluck Jonathan (May 2010-2015), and Muhammadu Buhari (2015-2023).

Tinubu takes over from Buhari, who completes his two terms in office today.

The former Lagos State governor assumes the nation’s leadership with Vice President-elect, Kashim Shettima, a former governor of Zamfara State.

Similarly, 28 governors will be sworn in across the country’s six geo-political zones, including ten old governors who were reelected for second terms.

The states where administrations will be inaugurated today are:

  • North-East: Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe
  • North-West: Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara states
  • South-East: Abia, Ebonyi, Enugu,
  • South-West: Lagos, Ogun, Oyo,
  • North-Central: Benue, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau,
  • South-South: Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Delta, Rivers,

The new governors 

Nasir Idris (Kebbi ), Kefas Agbu (Taraba), Bassey Otu (Cross River), Peter Mbah (Enugu), Mohammed Bago (Niger), Uba Sani (Kaduna), Ahmed Aliyu (Sokoto), and Umar Namadi (Jigawa).

Others are Dikko Radda (Katsina), Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Hyacinth Alia (Benue), Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi), Siminialayi Fubara (Rivers), Alex Otti (Abia), Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau), Abba Kabir (Kano), Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta) and Dauda Lawal (Zamfara).

Ten governors who are returning for a second term

Governors who won a second term in office are Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (Adamawa), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Babagana Zulum (Borno), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa) and AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara).

The ICIR reports that 16 governors were elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has 10 governors, while Labour Party (LP) and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) have one, each.

No inauguration in eight states 

There will be no inauguration of new administrations in eight states today because their governors are yet to exhaust their terms.

This followed court pronouncements that sacked governors from office, and as a result governorship polls in such states no longer follow general election cycles.

The states include Kogi, Bayelsa and Imo, where governorship elections will hold in November this year.

Others are Edo, Ekiti, Anambra, Osun and Ondo, whose governors will remain in office beyond 2023.

Marcus bears the light, and he beams it everywhere. He's a good governance and decent society advocate. He's the ICIR Reporter of the Year 2022. Contact him via email @ mfatunmole@icirnigeria.org.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.