Promoting Good Governance.

APC Wins Imo North Senatorial Re-Run Election

Benjami Uwajumogu
Winner of the Imo North Senatorial Re-run Election, Benjami Uwajumogu

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared former Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Ben Uwajimogu, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of the Imo North Senatorial District election which was held on Saturday, 23 July.

Uwajimogu polled 56,076 votes to beat his opponent from the People’s Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Athan Achonu who had 43,815 votes.

The returning officer, Arinze Agbaogu announced the results at the Central Collation Centre in Okigwe Local Government headquarters, saying the APC candidate having scored the majority of votes in the election has been declared winner of the election.

Similarly, the APC candidate in Oru East, Nkenna Nzeruo and his counterpart in Isiala Mbano, Chiji Collins, were also declared winners of the State House of Assembly rerun elections in their area.

INEC had declared the election inconclusive in some areas, citing irregularities and saying that supplementary elections would hold on Thursday, 28 July.

Meanwhile, the PDP has rejected the results as declared by INEC, saying it does not reflect what actually played out during the election in the zone.