Buhari in clear lead… 17 states’ results announced, 19 more to go

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress is currently leading with over one million votes after the results of 17 out of the 36 states of the federation and the FCT have been announced in the ongoing collation of the 2019 presidential elections.

The collation process which started at 11 am on Monday is taking place at the INEC collation centre located at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

The 18 states whose results have been announced so far are Abia, Adamawa, Anambra, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Yobe and the Federal Capital Territory.

Read Also:

The APC has won 10 states as against the seven states won by the PDP including FCT.

The states the APC has won include: Gombe (402,961 votes), Kaduna (993,445 votes), Jigawa (794, 738 votes), Ekiti (308,984),  Osun (347,634), Kwara (308,984 votes), and Kogi (285,894 votes).

The APC also won in Nasarawa, Yobe and Niger states, with 289,903 votes, 497,914 votes and 612,371 respectively.

On the other hand the PDP won in seven states namely Abia (219,698), Anambra (524,738), Ebonyi (258,573), Enugu (355,553), and the FCT (259,997).



    The PDP also recorded slim victories in Ondo (275,901), Oyo (366,690), and Adamawa (410,266).

    Put together, the APC is leading with a total of 6,153,880 votes against the PDP’s 5,149,869 votes.

    The states whose results are yet to be announced are Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Imo, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Lagos, Ogun, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba and Zamfara

    The collation exercise is currently on a 60-minute break, to reconvene at 3 pm.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement