Buhari sworn in for another four years

MUHAMMADU Buhari, candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the 2019 general elections, has been sworn in as Nigeria’s president for another four-year term.

The inauguration took place at the Eagle Square, Abuja, on Wednesday. The inauguration was celebrated low-key as earlier announced.

Therefore, the president did not deliver an inaugural speech as was the practice in the past.  Also, unlike in 2015, only invited persons attended the ceremony and were seen around the venue.

Buhari defeated 72 other presidential candidates at the polls according to results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission in February.

While he got 15.2 million votes, candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, polled 11.3 million.

The PDP has however petitioned the Presidential Electoral Tribunal in a bid to nullify the declared results.

Buhari is the second president to be elected twice into office. The first was Olusegun Obasanjo, president between 1999 and 2007, who was absent at the inauguration. Goodluck Jonathan, Buhari’s predecessor, also did not attend.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More