Buhari Replaces Kachikwu, Appoints New NNPC Board

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation,NNPC, as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.

The president also removed Ibe Kachikwu as group managing director of the corporation.

This was contained in a statement by presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina on Monday.



    Kachikwu will however remain as minister of state for petroleum and will serve as chairman of the new NNPC board.

    The new NNPC GMD is Maikanti Kacalla Baru, according to the presidency.

    The new board is composed of the following:

    1. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
    2. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
    3. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
    4. The following six persons:
    5. Mallam Abba Kyari
    6. Dr Thomas M.A John
    7. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
    8. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
    9. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
    10. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

    President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement