Buhari Swears In Ministers, Springs Surprises

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday inaugurated the Federal Executive Council, FEC, swearing in 36 ministers and allocating their portfolios amidst a fun fair filled ceremony at the presidential villa, Abuja.

The President sprung a few surprises as Rotimi Amaechi was announced as minister of Transport rather that Niger Delta as speculated while Abdulrahim Dambazau, former army chief got the Interior rather than the Defence portfolio.

Raji Fashola becomes minister of a consolidated ministry of Power, Works and Housing, which in the previous administrations formed three big portfolios.

Other key ministries are Justice, Abubakar Malami, SAN; Finance, Kemi Adeosun; Budget and National Planning, Udoma Udo Udoma; Health, Isaac Adewole and Defence, Muhammad Dan Ali.

Other ministers and their portfolios include Geoffrey Onyeama, Foreign Affairs; Khadija Abubakar Abba Ibrahim, State Minister of Foreign Affairs; Adamu Adamu, Education; Anthony Onwuka, State Minister of Education and Okechukwu Enelama, Industry, Trade and Investment; Aisha Abubakar, State Minister, Trade and Investment; Chris Ngige, Labour and Employment; James Ocholi, State Minister of Labour and Employment; Muhammodu Bello, FCT; Zainab Ahmed, State Minister of Budget and National Planning; and Mustapha Baba Shehuri,  State Minister of Power, Works and Housing.

As predicted, Audu Ogbeh is minister for  Agricultural and Rural Development, Kayode Fayemi takes the ministry of Solid Minerals while Lai Mohammed, former All Progressive Congress, APC, spokesman, Will man the Information ministry

Others are Heineken Lokpobiri, State Minister of Agricultural and Rural Development; Hadi Sirika,  State Minister of Aviation; Osagie Ehanire, State Minister of Health, Aisha Al-Hassan, Woman Affairs; Usani Uguru, Niger Delta, Claudius Daramola, State Minister of Niger Delta; Adebayo Shittu, Communication;  Amina Mohammed, Environment, Usman Jubril, State Minister of Environment; Suleiman Adamu, Water Resources and Solomon Dalong, Youth and Sports.

Also announced are Abubakar Bwari,  Minister Of States for Solid Minerals and Ogbonaya Onu, Science and Technology.



    Speaking at the swearing in ceremony, President Buhari said that his administration would continue to implement policies that would improve the economy of the nation.

    Aside promising positive changes, he assured that his administration would implement policies that will boost massive employment of youths and ensure food security.

    The president reiterated his determination to diversify the economy with agriculture becoming a major sector, urging Nigerians “keep hope alive”.

    Buhari confirmed that he will serve as the substantive Minister of Petroleum while Ibe Kachukwu will be the State Minister.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement