Saraki Emerges Senate President, Ekweremadu Deputy

Bukola Saraki, middle, being sworn in as Senate President

By Samuel Malik

Former governor of Kwara State, Bukola Saraki, has been elected President of the 8th Senate, defeating his rival and the ruling party, All Progressives Congress, APC’s, preferred candidate, Ahmed Lawan.



    Saraki, who has since been sworn into office, was nominated by Sani Yerima, a former governor of Zamfara State, and seconded by Dino Melaye.

    In a surprise twist, the minority, but powerful Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, produced the Deputy Senate President, with Ike Ekweremadu, the immediate past deputy senate president, voted for another tenure. Ekweremadu was nominated by Abiye Sekibo from Rivers State.

    The PDP had on Monday released a statement backing the candidacy of Saraki, a move conceived to counter the APC’s adoption of Lawan, and it is believed that part of the deal would see the PDP produce his deputy.

    In a clever move to catch the APC off-guard, the Senate, with majority of senators present on the platform of the PDP – 51 APC senators-elect were in a meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari at the International Conference Centre to find a way out of the logjam – went ahead with the task of electing its leaders, a move that saw Saraki emerge unopposed.


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement