Edo Suspends 4 Council Chairmen

Edo State House of Assembly on Tuesday approved the suspension of four local government council chairmen for a period of two months.

The four chairmen are Hon Emmanuel Momoh, Etsako Central local government area; Victor Enobakhare, Egor local government area; Osaro Obazee, Oredo local government area and Roland Ibierutomwen, Orhionmwon local government area.

The suspension of the council chairmen was sequel to a letter written to the Assembly by the state governor, Adams Oshiomhole, seeking its approval for the action.

“I am directed by the Governor of Edo State, Comrade Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole to inform you that in compliance with the relevant sections of the Local Government Act which mandates consultation with Edo State House of Assembly, the Governor wishes to inform Mr. Speaker and Members of the House that the underlisted Local Government Chairmen are hereby suspended from office with effect from today Tuesday October 6, 2015,” the letter signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Julius Ihonvbere stated.

Earlier on Tuesday, a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the state governor, Peter Okhiria, said Oshiomhole requested the suspension of four Local Government Chairmen for non-payment of staff salaries among other reasons.

He said further their suspension was to allow investigations into allegations made against them.



    “Their suspension which is for two months is to pave the way for unhindered investigation into several allegations against the chairmen, which includes non-payment of staff salaries without satisfactory explanations, inability to account for Internally Generated Revenue, diversion of funds, failure to follow due process in the award of contracts as well as illegal employment of senior officers without going through Local Government Service Commission, which is a violation of laid-down provisions,” he explained.

    Okhiria also said that panels of investigation would be set up to look into the allegations.

    The vice chairmen of the affected councils have been directed to takeover with immediate effect before the investigation of the panel of inquiry are concluded.

    This is not a new development as governor Oshiomhole had for similar offences suspended Alhassan Mohammed, chairman, Etsako West local government area in May 15 and Godwin Agbodion, the chairman of Owan West local government area two weeks later.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement