US Cancels Nigerian Lawmakers’ Visas As House investigate Sex Scandal

House-of-Rep 2013

The United States Embassy has cancelled the visa given to three members of the House of Representatives, just as the House is set to investigate the lawmakers over sexual misconduct allegedly committed while they were in the United States of America.

This was made known by one of the accused lawmakers, Mark Gbillah, who revealed in a letter he wrote to the American ambassador, that they were not given fear hearing before their visas were revoked.

Meanwhile the Chairman, House Committee on Media, Abdulrazak Namdas, also revealed that the House had constituted a committee to investigate the three lawmakers.

This came on the heel of a letter from the US Ambassador to Nigeria, James Entwistle to Speaker Yakubu Dogara.

The letter, dated June 9 stated that three of some ten members of the House who recently travelled to Cleveland, Ohio, as participants in the International Visitor Leadership Programme on good governance, engaged in sexual misconduct.

Part of the letter reads: “We received troubling allegations regarding the behaviour of three members of the delegation to the US Government’s flagship professional exchange programme.

“The US Department of State and the Cleveland Council on World Affairs received reports from employees of the Cleveland hotel, where the representatives stayed, alleging that the representatives engaged in the following behaviour:

“Mohammed Garba Gololo allegedly grabbed a housekeeper in his hotel room and solicited her for sex. While the housekeeper reported this to her management, this incident could have involved local law enforcement and resulted in legal consequences for the Representative

“Mark Terseer Gbillah and Samuel Ikon allegedly requested that hotel parking attendants assist them to solicit prostitutes.”



    The decision of the House to investigate the lawmakers came as the US formally cancelled its visas from the three lawmakers, an indication that they had been barred from future trips to the United States.

    The affected members are Mohammed Garba-Gololo (Bauchi State); Terseer Gbillah (Benue State), and Samuel Ikon (Cross River State).

    The three legislators were members of a team of 10 lawmakers nominated to attend the leadership programme, which took place in Cleveland, Ohio, between April 7 and 13 this year.

    Some of the members who participated in the programme were Chairman, House Committee on the Diaspora Affairs, Rita Orji; Deputy Chairman, House Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Gaza Jonathan; Ayo Omidiran; Danburam Abubakar and Nkole Ndukwe.


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    1. I used to be suggested this blog by way of my cousin. I’m not certain whether this submit
      is written by way of him as no one else understand such
      distinct about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

    2. Drug abuse among ladies is not gud pls females stop it,
      also for you youngsters, if they are doing you wil dislike it, pls stop it.

    3. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.

      I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
      I’m quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff
      right here! Good luck for the next!

    4. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
      I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and
      I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a honest
      price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

    5. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which
      blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress
      because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
      I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    6. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely useful and it has
      helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different users like its aided me.

      Good job.

    7. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
      Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    8. Howdy excellent blog! Does running a blog similar to this require
      a large amount of work? I have virtually no knowledge of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you
      have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners
      please share. I understand this is off topic however I just needed to ask.
      Thank you!

    9. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
      I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything
      I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

    10. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
      Did you design this website yourself or did you
      hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my
      own blog and would like to know where u got this from.

    11. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
      Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
      Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement