Promoting Good Governance.

In major cabinet reshuffle, Ambode sacks three commissioners

Akinwumi Ambode, Governor of Lagos State, has shown three former commissioners the exit door in a major cabinet reshuffle on Thursday.

Five new commissioners were also named.

The sacked commissioners are Adebimpe Akinsola, Femi Odubiyi and Anifowoshe Abiola; while the newly-appointed ones are Hakeem Fahm, Ministry of Science and Technology; Ladi Lawanson, Ministry of Transportation; Segun Banjo, Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget; Olayinka Oladunjoye, Ministry of Commerce and Industry and Hakeem Sulaiman, Communities and Communications.

According to a Statement by Tunji Bello, Secretary to the Lagos State Government, the move is aimed at creating “a new vigour and vitality for service delivery”.

The new commissioners will undergo a screening process by the State House of Assembly before fully assuming their duties.

All the other commissioners were redeployed to other ministries while special assistants to the governor were assigned new portfolios.

They include Rotimi Ogunleye, from the Ministry of Commerce and Industry to that of Physical Planning and Urban Development; Steve Ayorinde, from Ministry of Information and Strategy to Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture; and Babatunde Durosinmi Etti, from Ministry of Wealth Creation to Ministry of the Environment, among others.

Benjamin Olabinjo, former Special Adviser to the Lagos State Governor on Commerce and Industry, is now the Special Adviser on Civic Engagement, while Kehinde Joseph moved from Special Adviser Civic Engagement to become Special Adviser Housing.

In the same vein, Deji Tinubu, Special Adviser Sports, now becomes Special Adviser to on Commerce and Industry, while Anofiu Elegushi moves from Special Adviser Transport to become Special Adviser, Central Business District.