Information Agencies Get New Heads

Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed
Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed

The Federal Government on Wednesday appointed six persons to head its media agencies under the Ministry of Information and Culture.

This was contained in a statement issued by Segun Adeyemi, spokesperson to information minister, Lai Mohammed.

The positions had been vacant since February 15, 2016, when the government sacked the heads of the agencies. The appointments, according to the statement, are with immediate effect.

The new Chief Executives are:

1. Ishaq Modibo Kawu – Director-General, Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC)

2. Mansur Liman – Director-General, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN)



    3. Yakubu Mohammed – Director-General, Nigerian Television Authority (NTA)

    4. Garba Abari, Director-General, National Orientation Agency (NOA)

    5. Bayo Onanuga – Managing Director, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

    6. Osita Okechukwu – Director-General, Voice of Nigeria (VON)


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement