Itodo, Odeogbola, narrowly miss out on Global Teacher Prize


The fairy-tale run of Anthony Itodo and Ayodele Odeogbola, two Nigerian teachers nominated into the top 50 finalists of the Global Teacher Prize, have come to an end as both teachers were not named in the top 10.

Itodo, who holds a Bachelor’s degree in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Port Harcourt, and a Master’s in Study Reservoir Evaluation and Management from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, teaches Chemistry and Physics at Gateway Excel College, Ogeneago Otukpa, a small rural school in Benue.

Odeogbola, on the other hand, graduated from Tai Solarin University of Education, and teaches STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Education and Global Studies at Abeokuta Grammar School, Ogun State.

During a recent interview, Itodo admitted that getting nominated into the top 50 teachers in the world was a huge achievement in itself, adding that should he eventually win the $1 million grand prize, he would invest it in expanding the library he started together with his group.

“This nomination reiterates the fact that you can be anywhere and still be a beacon, make a difference and attain greatness,” he had said.

“Several of my kids have grown in self-belief as a result of my nomination – their teacher who lives and works in this remote village with them is being recognized as one of the best 50 teachers in the world! Now, that has got to inspire anyone.

“I presently have a number of ongoing projects that the fund will facilitate in expanding. The community library which our New Frontiers Youth Forum started needs expansion and possible introduction of an e-library component.



    “Our Forum also wants to set up a mega skill centre where we can train people, especially the young and women in different skills and then empower them financially so they can catalyze an economic revolution in this community.”

    The top 10 finalists are Nurten Akkus (Turkey), Marjorie Brown (South Africa), Luis Miguel Gutierrez (Colombia), Jesus Insilada (Philippines), Glen Lee (USA), Faria Lima (Brazil), Koen Timmers (Belgium), Eddie Woo (Australia), Andria Zafirakou (UK) and Barbara Anna Zielonka (Norway).

    The Global Teacher Award was set up by the Varkey Foundation “to recognize one exceptional teacher who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession”.

    The winner of the 2018 Global Teacher Prize will be announced during the Global Education and Skills Forum in Dubai on 18th March.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement