IWMF to honor women’s courage, achievement in journalism worldwide

IN a bid to honor women who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in journalism, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for its Courage in Journalism Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The awards honor women journalists who set themselves apart by exhibiting extraordinary bravery, persistence and resilience.

According to IWMF, “doing whatever it takes to uncover the truth, these women raise the bar for reporting under duress, or in the face of censorship.”

    The awards in its 30th year,  honors three brave journalists – including photojournalists – working in any country across the world.  In addition, the honorees demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and often overcome unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry.

    Winners typically receive cash prizes, which have yet to be determined, and travel to the United States to attend the award ceremonies.

    Self-nominations are not accepted and the deadline is March 1st.

    Click here to begin registration

    Abeeb Alawiye formerly works with The ICIR as a Reporter/Social Media officer. Now work as a Senior Journalist with BBC News Yoruba. You can shoot him an email via [email protected] or follow him on Twitter @habsonfloww

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.


    Most read