Lawan announces principal officers of 9th Assembly

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan has on Tuesday announced the appointment of principal officers of the 9th National Assembly.

This was sequel to a letter sent to the red chambers from both parties dominant in the House.

The announcement features Senator Abdullahi Yahaya, as Senate Leader and Senator Ajayi Borrofice as its deputy Senate Leader.

Emerging as Chief Whip was Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, and Senator Abdullahi Sabi as Deputy Chief Whip of the upper chambers.

Accordingly, Senator Enyinanya Abaribe of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), emerged as Minority Leader while Senator Emmanuel Bwacha, emerged Deputy Minority Leader.

Senator Phillip Aduda, however, emerged as Minority Chief Whip while Senator Sabi Yau emerged Deputy Minority Chief Whip.

Assigned legislative members are to reconvene on Tuesday, July 07, after a two-week recess.

Lawan, had earlier in June, approved the appointment of his Chief of Staff, Babagana Muhammad Aji and Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Festus Adedayo, whom he later discharged.

He also set up a 12-man Ad hoc committee from six geo-political zones to communicate the welfare of the senators with National Assembly management, headed by Senator Abubakar Kyari.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More