Senate President sets up 12-man ad-hoc committee on members’ welfare

SENATE President Ahmed Lawan on Thursday set up a 12-man Ad hoc committee to communicate the welfare of the senators with National Assembly management, headed by Senator Abu Kyari.

He noted that members of the committee were drawn from the six Geo-political zones, and had two weeks to submit its report.

He said they were expected to work with the Senate clerk, Nelson Ayewoh, to ensure seats and offices are allocated to all senators within the said time frame.

The Senate also adjourned the plenary to Tuesday, July second for allocation of seats and offices to senators.

The development was sequel to a motion by Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege and supported by Philip Aduda after a closed-door session.



    The ninth assembly of lawmakers was inaugurated on June 11, during which the Senate president and its deputy were elected and declared winner through a secret ballot election.

    Lawan, representing Yobe North district had gathered 79 votes, against Ndume Ali representing Borno South district with 28 votes, with a total vote cast of 107.

    Both candidates are from the All Progressive Congress, (APC).

    Lawan in accepting his nomination had promised to collaborate with the lawmakers, in delivering interventions sustainable for societal growth and development.


    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement