Ndoma-Egba, Chukwumerije, Lose Fourth -Term Bid For Senate

Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba and Uche Chukwumerije, both three-term senators seeking re-election for a fourth term, led the pack of high profile incumbents that lost out in the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, primaries held on Sunday.

Ndoma-Egba was defeated with 217 votes to 37 by John Owan-Enoh, a member of the House of Representatives representing Obubra/Etung Federal Constituency.

Chukwmerije on the other hand, lost in Abia North Senatorial District to Mao Ohuabunwa, a former member of the House of Representatives.

Also, Aloysius Akpan Etok lost his bid to return to the Senate after his dramatic last minute withdrawal to pave the way for Akwa Ibom State governor, Godswill Akpabio.

Another senator who lost out in the primaries is Nenadi Usman who also lost her seat to represent Kaduna South.


Other senate bigwigs like Senate President David Mark, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu and Senate Leader Abdul Ningi all won their respective primaries.

Mark scored 384 votes to pick the party’s ticket, according to the result announced by the returning officer, John Akume, while his only rival, Mike Onoja, withdrew from the race hours to its commencement.

Mark has represented the Benue South Senatorial zone, comprising Otukpo, Okpokwu, Ado, Ogbadibo, Agatu, Oju, Obi, Ohimini and Apa local government councils, for the past 16 years.

Ekweremadu was returned unopposed as the PDP candidate for Enugu West Senatorial District for the 2015 election, after governor Sullivan Chime pulled out of the race. He secured a total of 294 out of the 299 votes cast by the accredited delegates.

Also, all five PDP governors eyeing Senate seats won at Sunday’s primaries. They include Gabriel Suswam (Benue), Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Theodore Orji (Abia) and Jonah Jang (Plateau).




    There were controversies in some states over the elections, and parallel primaries were held in different locations in Anambra, Bayelsa, Ebonyi and Enugu states.

    In the primary election held at Ozalla Primary School in Nkanu West, Enugu State, former Minister of Information, Nweke, defeated five other aspirants scoring 268 votes as announced by the returning officer, Chris Akam, but in a parallel primary election which took place at the gymnasium of the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Ifeoma Nwobodo, emerged winner with 192 votes as announced by the returning officer, Okechukwu Emmanuel Inya.

    Meanwhile, former Minister of Aviation, Stella Oduah, who was sacked from the federal cabinet in February following her controversial purchase of two bullet proof vehicles, polled the highest number of votes over other contenders in Anambra North Senatorial Zone, including a sitting senator, Margery Chuba-Okadigbo, who had only 8 votes.

    Similarly, chairman, Senate committee on Water Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri, and former chairman, State Scholarship Board, Foster Ogola, both emerged winner of the PDP ticket for the Bayelsa West Senatorial District.

    While Ogola won with 69 votes at the primaries held at the College of Education, Sagbama administrative office, Lokpobiri emerged winner with a total of 93 votes at a parallel primary election conducted at the Sagbama Community Primary School II.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement