One World Media hosts worldwide competition

The One World Media Awards honors underreported stories on social, political or cultural life in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East and former Soviet republics.

Established in 1988, the One World Media Awards recognises the best media coverage of developing countries, reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people around the globe.



    The competition is comprised of  14 categories, celebrating work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres; and a special award for an independent media outlet based in a developing country.

    According to the organisation, works published between Feb. 14, 2019 and Feb. 13, 2020 are eligible. Any entries not in English must be translated, subtitled or dubbed.


    Key dates:

    • Open for entries: Tuesday 7 January, 2020
    • Entry deadline: Thursday 13 February, 2020
    • Awards ceremony: Thursday 18 June, 2020

    For registration, click here

    Abeeb Alawiye formerly works with The ICIR as a Reporter/Social Media officer. Now work as a Senior Journalist with BBC News Yoruba. You can shoot him an email via [email protected] or follow him on Twitter @habsonfloww

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement