Promoting Good Governance.

President Buhari Rejigs Education Agencies, Sacks JAMB, NECO Bosses

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

The Federal Government has announced sweeping changes in the Ministry of Education with the replacement of 17 Chief Executives of parastatals and agencies under the Ministry.

This was contained in a statement issued on Monday evening by the Deputy Director of Press and Public Relations in the Education Ministry, Ben Bem Goong.

The statement said four Chief Executives whose tenures were yet to elapse were retained, while others including the Registrar and Chief Executive of the Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board, JAMB, Dibu Ojerinde were relieved of their appointments.

The former JAMB boss was replaced by Ishaq Oloyede, a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin.

The 17 agencies affected and their new Chief Executives include: Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration, Lilian Salami; National Examinations Council, Charles Uwakwe; National Universities Commission, Abubakar Rasheed; Nomadic Education Commission, Bashir Usman; and National Library of Nigeria, Lanre Aina.

Others are National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education, Abba Aladu; Universal Basic Education, Hameed Bobboyi; National Commission for Colleges of Education, Bappah Aliyu; Computer Registration Council of Nigeria, Afolabi Aderint; National Business and Technical Examinations Board, Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe; and Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria, Sunday Ajiboye.

The new appointees also included Tertiary Education Trust Fund, Abdullahi Baffa; National Mathematical Centre, Steven Onah; Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria, Michael Afolabi and National Teachers Institute, Garba Azare.

Newly Appointed Agencies/Parastatals
Prof Abubakar Adamu Rasheed National Universities Commission (NUC)
Mrs. Lilian Salami Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration
Dr. Hameed Bobboyi Universal Basic Education
Prof Lanre Aina National Library of Nigeria
Prof Charles Uwakwe National Examinations Council
Prof Abba Aladu National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult, and Non-Formal Education
Prof Bashir Usman Nomadic Education Commission
Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe National Business and technical Examinations Board
Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria
Afolabi Aderinto Computer Registration Council of Nigeria
Prof Bappah Aliyu National Commission for Colleges of Education
Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa Tertiary Education Trust Fund
Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare National Teachers Institute
Prof Michael Afolabi Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria
Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah National Mathematical Centre
Prof Ishaq Oloyede Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB
Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche National Institute of Nigerian Languages

Those retained included the Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council, Samaila Junaidu; Nigerian French Language Village, Rauf Adebisi; National Board for Technical Education, Mas’ud Kazaure and National Arabic Language Village, Muhammad Mu’az.

The appointments took effect from Monday, August 1 and the new appointees are expected to report at the office of the Education Minister on Tuesday, August 02, for inauguration.