PSC promotes Mba, Ciroma to DIG, 14 commissioners to AIG

THE Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of Frank Mba and Bala Ciroma as Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIG).

According to a statement signed by the PSC’s spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, the Commission made the decision at its 21st plenary meeting, which was presided over by its chairman, Solomon Arase.

The duo were recently promoted to the Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG) rank. The AIG is the third-highest rank in the Nigeria Police Force, while DIG is the second-highest ranking officer.

Ali Janga, who represented the North-East geo-political zone in the police management team, retired from service, and Ciroma will be taking his place. Similarly, John Amadi, who previously held the position representing the South-East zone, has also retired, and Mba will be assuming his role.

In addition to the appointments, the Commission has also approved the promotion of 14 Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG), and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCP) to the rank of Commissioners of Police.

Among the newly promoted AIGs are Abubakar Lawal, Alhassan Aminu, Abdul Umar, Shettima Zannah, Ebong Eyibio Ebong, Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori, Okon Okon Effiong, Echeng Eworo Echeng, Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall, Bankole Lanre Sikiru, Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju, Sani Gwarzo, and Odama Paul Ojeka.

The 22 DCPs, who have been promoted to the rank of Police Commissioners include Abibo Deinma Reuben, Thomas Abraham Nabhoni, Wakil Abdul Salamai, Enyinnaya Inonachi, Ronke Nurat Okunade, Adekunle Ismail Olusokan, Hassan Abdu Yabnet, Festus Chinedu Oko, Aminu Baba Raji, Omolara Ibidun Oluntola, Akoh Benedict Gabriel, Alamutu Abiodun Mustapha, Bafda Magaji Jahun, Ahmadu Tijani Abdullahi, and Mohamned Mu’azu.

The commission has also approved the promotion of 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACP) to the rank of Deputy Commissioners.



    Those promoted include Ezekiel Ibrahim, Mohammed Shamsudeen, Khan Salihu Usman, Wan Mantu Chongs, Baba Lawan Audu, Okon Etim Asuquo, Louis Chike Nwabuwa, Samuel Osman Onoja, Sa’ad Yahaya, and Ibrahim Jibrin.

    Additionally, 39 Chief Superintendents of Police (CSP) have been promoted to the rank of ACP. These include Joseph Udoh, Nze Helen Omeba, Uduaku Isaac Udom, Anthony Francis Etim, Benjamin Kelembus Bello, Abdullahi Idris Abubakar, Ogbonnaya Nwota, and Daiyabu Mohammed Ahmed.

    Read Also:

    The acting appointment of Akande Bamidele to acting Assistant Commissioner of Police has also been approved.

    The statement noted that Arase congratulated the newly promoted officers and urged them to commit themselves to the service of their country.


    You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement