Senate Elects Ndume Majority Leader Despite APC Directive

Senate President Bukola Saraki
Senate President Bukola Saraki

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki during plenary on Thursday announced Ali Ndume, a senator from Borno State as the new Majority Leader of the Senate of the 8th Assembly.

This is in defiance of the directive by the leadership of the All Progressive Congress, APC that Ahmed Lawan who contested the senate president seat with the incumbent be given the role.

Also elected as Senate Deputy Leader was Bala Ibn Na’Allah, from Kebbi State while the Chief Whip is yet to be named. Francis Alimikhena, a senator from the South south was named as Deputy Whip.
The party and the leadership of both chambers have been embroiled in crisis over the selection of principal

officers after the senators flouted the party’s initial directive over the leadership positions.

The crisis has hindered legislative business in both arms of the National Assembly for weeks.

Meanwhile, the Lawan-led camp has objected to the list read out by Saraki.

Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

- Advertisement


- Advertisement