Senate President Constitutes 65 Standing Committees

Senate President Bukola Saraki
Senate President Bukola Saraki

Senate President Bukola Saraki on Wednesday announced the long awaited standing committees for the Upper legislative house.

In a breakdown of the chairmanship portfolios, the All Progressives Congress, APC, senators got 41, while the Peoples Democratic Party,PDP, senators got 24.

A major omission was the former Senate President, David Mark, who was not made to head any committee of the upper legislative chamber.



    Among the top committee chairmanship portofolios, Danjuma Goje, APC, was assigned to chair the committee on Appropriation and John Owan Enoh, PDP, was allocated to the Finance committee, while Donald Omotayo Alaosoadura, APC, heads the committee on Petroleum (Upstream) with Uche Lilian Ekwunife, PDP, heading the committee on Petroleum (Downstream).

    Saraki is Chairman of Senate Selection Committee, a body of principal officers of the upper chamber with the responsibility to allocate the committees.

    Also, Borno Central Senatorial district bye election winner, Senator Kaka Garbai, of the APC, was inaugurated, increasing the number of APC senators to 60, while PDP has 49.

    The Senate President adjourned plenary till Tuesday, November 12 after the announcement of the chairmanship and vice chairmanship positions.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement