Senate Screens INEC, NPC Commissioners-Designate


The Senate has commenced the screening of six nominees for Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs, whose names were forwarded to the upper legislative chambers by President Muhammadu Buhari.

This was agreed during the consideration of executive communications at the floor of the senate on Tuesday.

The commissioners-designate were directed to appear before the senate committee on Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

They are: Okechukwu Ibeanu – Anambra; May Agbamuche-Mbu – Delta; Ahmed Mu’Azu, Gombe; Mohammed Haruna – Niger; Adekunle Ogunmola – Oyo and Abubakar Nahuche of Zamfara state.

    The Senate also considered the request by the President for the confirmation of five commissioners for the National Population Commission, NPC.

    They include Benedict Ukpong, Akwa Ibom; Gloria Izonfuo – Bayelsa; Kupchi Iyanya, Haliru Bala – Kebbi and Eyitayo Oyetunji.

    The commissioners-designate are expected to appear before the Senate Committee on National Population.

    The committees were asked to report to the Senate in two weeks.

    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement