29.1 C

DSS Releases Names of 20 Boko Haram Suspects Arrested In Last Two Months



Lawan Daura, Director General, DSS
Lawan Daura, Director General, DSS

By Samuel Malik

The Department of State Service, DSS, has released the names of “notable commanders and frontline members” of Boko Haram arrested within the last two months, as efforts are intensified to bring an end to the insurgency ravaging the North east.

Prominent among the suspects, according to a statement issued by the Services’ spokesman, Tony Opuiyo, are five masterminds of the suicide attacks in Potiskum, Kano, Zaria, and Jos, Usman Shuaibu, Ahmed Mohammed, Adamu Abdullahi, Ibrahim Isa, and Muttaqa Yusuf.

The first five suspects, according to the SSS, were all arrested in Gombe state on July 8, 2015.

Fifteen other suspects were arrested in different parts of the country, including Lagos and Enugu states, something the DSS attributed to the sect’s intention to spread its activities beyond the northern part of the country.

“Shuaibu revealed that he coordinated the attacks under reference with the sum of five hundred thousand Naira (N500, 000.00), which was provided by his Amir, one Isa Ali,” the DSS said, adding that the suspect claimed Ali collects money from Boko Haram leader, Abubakar Shekau, with whom he has links.

Also, Shuiabu said he was part of the attack at Gwoza Divisional Police Station in 2014.

- Advertisement -

“Shuaibu admitted being the leader of the team of nine (9) sect members that was dispatched from Sambisa Forest to carry out the attacks. He disclosed that four (4) out of the nine (9) of them were used as suicide bombers in executing all the (Suicide) attacks,” the DSS added.

While Mohammed and Abdullahi organised and strapped the explosive devices on the suicide bombers, Isa was the one that surveyed the target areas in Jos. Yusuf, according to the secret service confessed that while he assisted in the attacks, they were ordered by another suspect believed to be Aliyu Gombe from Sambisa forest.

Twelve others were arrested in Lagos. They are Bakura Modu, Mustapha Alli Jamneri, Abuyi Sherriff, Babagana Ali, Babagana Koloye, Abba Modu Sagma, Grema Abubakar, Tijani Bagudu, Baba Alhaji, Abass Ibrahim, Adam Wakil Abdul Jilbe, and Mohammed Usman.

Ibrahim Audu, Ibrahim Haruna and Mal Ali Mohammed were arrested in Enugu, Gombe and Kano states respectively.

The DSS further noted that the arrests of these suspects has helped to stem the spate of bombings by the insurgents, particularly Shuaibu and his gang, whose arrest foiled an attack in Bauchi state.

While it reiterated its resolve to work with other security agents in the fight against terrorism and calling on Nigerians to volunteer information, the DSS said it is trying to conclude its investigation to enable the prosecution of the suspects.


Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Floods ravaged over 31,000 households in Yobe – SEMA

THE Yobe State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) has said that over 31,000 households were...

2023: INEC reveals plans to deploy undercover agents to polling units

THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has disclosed plans to deploy undercover agents to...

Imo govt approves promotion, free medical services for civil servants

THE governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodiinma, says it has approved promotions and free...

2023: Six APC governors meet NWC over campaign council crisis

SIX governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and some members of the...

ASUU: Jega knocks Ngige, says he is creating more problems

A FORMER chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Attahiru Jega, says the...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter