Timipre Sylva Clinches APC Governorship Ticket in Bayelsa

Tmipre Silva
Tmipre Silva

Former governor Timipre Sylva on Wednesday won the All Progressive Party Congress, APC, primary to emerge as the party’s candidate for the December 5, gubernatorial election.

He scored 981 votes, beating Godknows Powel who polled 39 and Wallman Agoriba who got 28 votes.

The chairman of the APC election committee, Mansur Alli, a retired Brigadier, who announced the result of the primary, said that a total of 1147 delegates were accredited.

“Out of 1147 accredited delegates for the primary election, Mr Timipre Sylva scored 981 to win other 18 aspirants who participated” Alli stated, adding that “five aspirants scored zero , 1120 valid votes and 27 voided votes in the election.”

An elated Sylva commended the committee on the smooth conduct of the primary and said that he was ready to bring the much desired change to the people of Bayelsa State.

Controversy and confusion had trailed Wednesday’s primary of the APC as some aspirants complained that they did not even know the venue of the election.

The primary originally held last week but the result announced, which also saw Silva emerge as winner, was cancelled by the national body of the party and a new date set for a fresh election.

Some of the aspirants on Wednesday had criticised arrangements for the poll, complaining that they were not informed about the change in venue.

The rescheduled APC primary was originally scheduled for the Sampson Siasia Stadium, Yenagoa, but it was learnt that the party had to change the venue, having failed to secure permission to use the facility from the state government.

The poll was thereafter moved to the party secretariat in the Bayelsa State capital.

Timi Alaibe, the main rival to former Sylva had earlier on Wednesday withdrawn from the race, leaving 17 other aspirants to slug it out with Sylva.

Four aspirants, Tarila Timpa, Tonye Aprella, Dikvie Ikieghe and Austine Ogion, who all claimed that they were not informed of a change in venue arrived while voting had commenced but they still participated in the exercise.

Ikiogha had condemned the decision to change the venue overnight without informing all the aspirants.

“The electoral committee initially informed us that the venues was Samson Siasia Stadium but was not followed, it is very unlawful. I was at the main venue, Samson Siasia Sports complex as early as 8.00 am but none of the electoral committee members were founded,” Ikiogha said.

Aprella said also said that he did not know of the change in venue until the primary commenced at the party’s secretariat in Yenagoa.



    “It is very unlawful to change venue without telling us, the aspirants. The electoral committee just change the venue to favour the former governor. Timipre Sylva,” he alleged.

    “Are we not supposed to be informed of the venue change to enable us be around even before the accreditation commenced,” he queried, adding that he would personally report the incident to President, Mohammed Buhari “because this is not the change that we are preaching and APC is for change.”

    Reacting to the development, chairman of the election committee in charge of the primary, Mansur Alli, a retired Brigadier, said that the decision to change of venue was not to favour any aspirants.

    “Well, the original venue was not available today so we used the secretariat in line with the direction from the party national headquarter,” Alli explained.





    Join the ICIR WhatsApp channel for in-depth reports on the economy, politics and governance, and investigative reports.

    Support the ICIR

    We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

    Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

    If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Support the ICIR

    We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

    - Advertisement


    - Advertisement