Promoting Good Governance.

Umaru Dikko Heads PDP Disciplinary Committee

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has constituted a 7-man national disciplinary committee to be headed by Umaru Dikko.

This is contained in a statement issued on Monday by the party’s acting national publicity secretary, Tony Okeke.

According to the statement, setting up the committee is in pursuant to the provisions of Articles 57 (1), (2), (3) of the party`s constitution.

The statement said that King A.J. Turner would serve as deputy chairman of the committee while Emmanuel Agboti would serve as its Secretary.

Other members of the committee include; Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu,Shuaibu Oyedokun, Nana Ayishat Kadiri and Hussaini Diraki.

The statement said that the committee would be inaugurated by the party’s National Chairman, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur at a later date.

Dikko was a Special Political Adviser to President Shehu Shagari and also a one-time Minister of Transport in the second republic.

He played prominent roles as transport minister and head of the presidential task force on rice in Shagari`s administration.

Dikko fled to London on exile when the Shagari administration was overthrown in a coup on December 31, 1983.

The PDP, on July 26, had inaugurated a 30-man reconciliation committee which headed by Seriake Dickson, Governor of Bayelsato reconcile aggrieved members of the party.