37.6 C

2023: Buhari bids 10 ministers farewell, to replace them soon



1min read

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has bid farewell to cabinet members vying for elective offices in the 2023 general elections.

A valedictory session was held for the ministers at the  Presidential Villa in Abuja on Friday, where the President promised to replace them soon.

Buhari had directed his appointees interested in elective offices in the next year’s election to quit during last Wednesday’s weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting. 

The order came a day after the governing party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), ended the sale of expression of interest and nomination forms for the 2023 general elections.

However, the order did not affect Vice President Yemi Osinbajo. Nigerians elected him alongside the president.

Ten ministers resigned from Buhari’s cabinet.

Six ministers want to succeed the president, who leaves office on May 29, 2023.

- Advertisement -

Minister of State for Education Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba was the first minister to relinquish office among the ten ministers.

Others are Rotimi Amaechi (Transportation), Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Affairs), Ogbonnaya Onu (Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation), and Timipre Sylva (State, Petroleum Resources).

They are contesting for the presidency.

The list also include Tayo Alasoadura (Minister of State, Niger Delta Affairs) and Pauline Tallen (Minister of Women Affairs), who are vying for senatorial seats in their respective states, Ondo and Plateau.

Similarly, two other ministers, namely Abubakar Malami (Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation) and Minister of State for Mines and Steel Uche Ogah, are contesting the governorship election in Kebbi and Abia, respectively.

All the now former ministers are pursuing their ambitions on the platform of the APC.

Their resignations from the Buhari cabinet are in tandem with Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act.

- Advertisement -

Buhari had mandated all the ministers to resign before May 16.

Support the ICIR

We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.


If you or someone you know has a lead, tip or personal experience about this report, our WhatsApp line is open and confidential for a conversation



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Support the ICIR

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.



Varsity students protest lingering ASUU strike in Ogun, Oyo

University students in Oyo and Ogun states on Monday staged protests against the lingering...

FCTA demolishes Abuja mini market

THE Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) on Monday demolished a mini market at Area...

Police arrest four over lynching of sound engineer in Lekki

THE Lagos State Police Command says it has arrested four suspects over the lynching...

How hackers unlock, steal vehicles – NCC

THE Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) on Monday warned that hackers have deviced ways to...

LG secretariat, EEDC office set ablaze in Anambra

SUSPECTED arsonists on Monday set fire on the secretariat of the Idemili North Local...

Most Read


Subscribe to our newsletter